6 months & some change

My little guy is 6 months old!! And he is constantly changing (six months & some change, get it? ha ha, corny I know)!! I can hardly believe it. To commemorate, we did an aviator/mustache photo shoot that screams cheesy 70s cop (aka baby Tom Selleck). Oh man, this photo shoot cracked me up. Sometimes I wonder if the things we do to this kid are too much, but he doesn’t seem to mind. He loves rolling around for the camera and has recently decided that grabbing the camera and pulling it into his mouth is the most fun thing about his photo shoots!

With 6 months of age under his belt, Toby is changing daily: sitting up (mostly on his own), inching across the room (imagine the baby version of doing the worm), eating green vegetables, choosing which toys to play with, developing a keen sense of humor, and trying to walk (despite my protests!). This kid blows my mind every day and it is such a joy to get to watch him learn and grow and experience things for the very first time.

I love every day, but already I find myself missing some of his earlier stages. So, I wanted to share a few of my favorite things about him right now (since I know they won’t last forever).

I love that he wants to cuddle when he is exhausted. He tries to hold his head up, but is too tired and crashes it down into my shoulder, letting me hold and snuggle him close.

I love that he thinks silly songs are awesome and smiles and laughs as I make up random jingles and sing them off tune.

I love that he reaches for his monkey or giraffe when it is time to nap and bears hugs them and wrestles with them until he is certain they aren’t going any where – then he cuddles them and falls asleep.

I love that when we wake him up in the morning, he beams at me this big, gummy smile as if to say that his day just got even better because I arrived in it.

I love that he wrestles and pins his own hands into his mouth as if he has to hold on tight or they will get away.

I love that he has one dimple that pops out when he grins between the extra chins and baby fat.

Obviously there are more, but these are a few of my favorite things about my baby boy.

Leave a Reply

