Hand Foot Mouth Throat, what doesn’t hurt?

Our family has been sick the last few weeks. Toby had a temp of 103.5 last week and was diagnosed with hand, foot, and mouth disease. For those of you who say, isn’t that something only animals get? Or, I’ve never heard of that, what is that? Hand, foot, and mouth disease is similar to the chicken pox. Your hands, feet, and/or mouth can break out into little blister like sores. It is also accompanied with fever and is highly contagious. Kiddos tend to get this, though adult cases happen. Like the chicken pox, it is harder on adults and once you have it, it is unlikely you will ever get it again. Most people have had it and not known that is what it was, but I clearly remember having it as a child.

We were on vacation in Flagstaff at our cabin and I got to eat ice cream, pudding, and milkshakes the whole time. I only had sores in my mouth and I got to wear pjs for a week! Sounds glorious, doesn’t it?

Not so much for Toby. He was a bit lethargic and slightly listless. He actually let me hug him tight to my chest for an HOUR! Oh man, poor little guy was not feeling great.

Meanwhile, I started to get sick. By Saturday, while at the wedding of dear friends, my fever was spiking! Yikes! I spent two days miserable with all over body pains, then my throat turned into fire, where it continues to be today, despite antibiotics (for presumed strep). In fact, my best friend right now is throat lozenges. They literally give me the ability to speak by numbing my throat. Hurray! If things haven’t cleared up some by tomorrow, it may be back to square one as to what this is exactly (since my body should have responded to the antibiotics by tomorrow if it is strep).

Somehow, in all of this, David has managed not to get sick. He has been a huge blessing, taking care of us both. He even packed up Toby to run errands with him because I needed to rest at home.

Needless to say, we haven’t pulled the camera out in a while, but I do have some fun shoots in mind as soon as I start feeling better. I know I keep teasing about the nursery and not delivering, but my reasoning has been this… I have two small projects remaining and I would really like to finish them before posting the “finished nursery.” One project requires my glue gun, which I lent to a friend, who is now on vacation in Cali until the end of the month. Brilliant. The second requires my husband to measure, score, and cut styrofoam in all his free time not taking care of me, Toby, or working. So, it’s taking some time. Hang in there.

In my last bit of news, my brother and sister-in-law welcomed their third baby to the world yesterday!!! They had a precious baby boy whom they named Nathan Scott or Nate Jr. He was 8.6 lbs and 19.5 in. Big brother James desperately wanted a baby brother, so I’m sure he is thrilled! Big sister Maebelle may not be as thrilled to give up the baby crown to baby Nate, only time will tell.

One thought on “Hand Foot Mouth Throat, what doesn’t hurt?

  1. Emma–so sorry you are sick. Strep is so painful I hope your meds kick in soon. There’s a product just for sore throats and I have used it for strep to relieve the pain. Can’t remember the name, but you spray it directly into your throat or onto the tonsils. It works great, so give it a try if you are not better soon. We have hand-foot-mouth disease here in Indianapolis about every 3-4 years. It seems to always get traced back to the Children’s Museum with all the kiddos touching the hands-on exhibits. It’s truly the gift that keeps on giving. Take care of yourself and that beautiful boy!

Leave a Reply

