a year later

I have been absent from the blogging world for nearly a year. Though I enjoyed sharing recipes, ideas, and thoughts, I found myself in a bit of a forced hiatus. I got pregnant.

Pregnancy for me meant hugging a toilet for over 5 months and living on fruit snacks, smoothies, and nothing with a “smell.” I could’t be in the kitchen for months. I had to leave the room when my husband made dinner. Even pictures of food made me nauseas.

Meanwhile, I was anticipating not only a return to food, but more importantly, a sweet baby boy! Toby arrived March 8 by emergency c-section nearly 3 weeks earlier than expected. He was perfect! We could not be more thrilled to be parents to this sweet little boy.

Parenting has had it’s ups and downs. Ups being nearly everything. Downs being acid reflux and intolerances to different foods in my diet. So, 4 weeks after giving birth I was put on the following diet:
Rice
Beets
Asparagus
Lettuce
Sweet potato
Carrots
Apples
Pears
Peaches
Cranberries
Chicken
Lamb
Olive oil
White vinegar
Honey
Cane or beet sugar
Sea salt

Additionally, I was to avoid soy, dairy, eggs, caffeine, nuts, shellfish, gluten, and corn as I started the long and tedious process of adding one more item to my diet every 2 days to see if it affected Toby’s reflux and digestion issues.

My experience is not isolated. I have met many new moms who have had to go on severe elimination diets for their babies. What is really difficult is the lack of resources including recipes for these moms. Many give up and pay hundreds of dollars a month on hypoallergenic formulas for lack of knowing how to cook under such restricted limitations. I would like to use my blog to share recipes I created, what foods I added back and why, and encourage other new moms.

At this point I have successfully added most fruits and vegetables, range meats, dairy, and eggs to my diet. Gluten continues to cause problems and my son’s GI doctor prefers if I wait on nuts and shellfish. I also limit my soy, corn, and caffeine.

This is the result: my son is happy and thriving! He is 3 months old and just an absolute joy. I am excited to start sharing our process and see where it takes us.

One thought on “a year later

Leave a Reply

