halibut in a lemon and herb white wine sauce

After sadly watching the Netherlands lose to Spain in the World Cup today, David and I were in need of a simple, replenishing meal. His choice was halibut and fresh steamed broccoli and I added parmesan garlic potatoes to the mix.

I pan seared the halibut over medium high heat before adding the sauce and steaming it to perfection. The sauce was absolutely divine and positively simple. I chopped fresh chives and oregano from the garden added it to 2T olive oil, 1 t lemon juice, and 1 clove minced garlic. Once the halibut was seared, I poured the mixture over each piece, added 1/3 white wine to the pan, and put a lid on it to steam. The halibut came out flaky, juicy, and delicious!

For the parmesan garlic mashed potatoes, we made potatoes as per usual but added 1 clove minced garlic, 1/3 cup parmesan, and 3 leafs fresh basil (julienned) to the mix. Yum!

Also, on a whim, my husband surprised me with a beautiful red rose!

It brightens up my day when he offers spontaneous affection! :)

Leave a Reply

