gnocchi and vodka sauce

I’ll admit it, I’m a hard alcohol sort of girl. I prefer the taste of vodka over any other alcoholic beverage hands down. Not only do I like my vodka stirred, I like it stirred in vodka sauce! For those of you who haven’t tasted vodka sauce before, you simply haven’t lived. Vodka sauce is a tomato cream sauce with a kick…

The first time I encountered vodka sauce was in college. My lovely friend, Miss Jessica Watson (who was featured in my fashion blog not too long ago), invited me over for dinner and cocktails. We started with cocktails and managed to destroy her blender in the process as well as cover her floor in sticky goo. But, good did come out of it! Jessica made vodka sauce over gnocchi for dinner and new bond was formed (whether it was between me and Jess or me and the vodka sauce is for you to decide). Since that time, I have made this meal a number of times and it gets better every time!

For those of you who are unfamiliar with gnocchi – it is a potato based pasta somewhat reminiscent of a dumpling. Gnocchi is made from potatoes, eggs, and flour. It is a simple dough that takes very little time to make and eat. I recommend picking up packaged gnocchi from your local grocery store to try it out prior to making it from scratch as some people aren’t partial to the texture. Look below for the vodka sauce recipe, then tell me how do you like your gnocchi?

RECIPE:

3 shallots, minced
2 gloves garlic, minced
4-5 large tomatoes, diced
1 cup vodka
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1 T butter
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp chili flakes
1 T basil
1/2 cup grated parmesan
1/4 cup shredded parmesan

In medium saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Saute shallots and garlic until softened. Add tomatoes, salt, pepper, chili flakes and basil. Simmer for 30 minutes until reduced. Add vodka and simmer another 30 minutes. (Note: for smooth sauce, blend in food processor at this point, then return sauce to pan.) Add cream slowly while whisking to prevent curdling. Allow sauce to return to temperature. Add grated parmesan to sauce to finish. Serve over cooked gnocchi, garnished with shredded parmesan.

P.S. You may have noticed large chunks of meat in my sauce… that would be Italian sausage, a wonderful compliment to the bite of vodka sauce. If you’re into it, saute some up and throw it into the sauce when you put the vodka in to add even more dimension to your meal!

One thought on “gnocchi and vodka sauce

  1. Blending just isn’t any fun without you here.

    I request a post with a bread recipe. I need to sharpen my bread making skills.

Leave a Reply

