30 minute meals

It’s time to be completely honest. There are two words in the world of cooking that make my ears bleed and my hairs stand on end. I know I’m not alone in the way I feel, but at times it can be isolating. I try desperately not to be so reactive, but alas, repeated exposure makes it worse. Now to the two little words…

Rachel Ray. Her voice. Her hair. Her accent. Her poor attempts at humor. The way she walks you through a recipe like you’ve never made anything with multiple ingredients before. Ugh. However, I love the idea of her old show – the 30 minute meal. Let’s face it, sometimes we just don’t want to spend very much time in the kitchen, so something quick, easy, and delicious is the tastiest recipe in the bunch.

One of my favorite 30 minute meals is breaded fish, steamed broccoli, and rice. Could it be any more simple? (Well, probably, but does it need to be?) This dish including prep time takes no more than 30 minutes and it is delicious as well as nutritious.

What are your favorite 30 minute meals?

RECIPE

2 filets tilapia
1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
2 T flour
2 T olive oil
1 crown broccoli, trimmed and divided
2 sun-dried tomatoes, Julienned
1 cup basmati rice (or wild rice)
1 1/2 cup chicken broth or bouillon
1 T butter

Start the rice first. Add chicken broth, butter, and rice to a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, stir once, reduce heat to simmer and cover for 20 minutes. Take of burner and let sit for 10 minutes. Fluff with fork.

10 minutes until rice is finished:
Steam broccoli and sun-dried tomatoes over high heat until soft but still crunchy (or to taste for those of you who like mushy brocoli).

Meanwhile mix bread crumbs with flour and 1 tsp each of salt and pepper. Lightly cover fish in olive oil until just coated and dip in bread crumbs. Heat olive oil on medium-high heat. Cook fish until lightly browned on both sides.

Plate meal and enjoy!

3 thoughts on “30 minute meals

  1. Yeah, her voice can get on your nerves. I was excited to get one of her 30 minute meals cookbooks, but then I was let down after I tried a couple of her recipes. None of them were outstanding.

    I think my favorite, quick, go-to-meal is pan fried chicken breasts on top of Greek salad – easy and fresh.

    I wish Ryan liked fish because I would totally try the recipe above.

  2. I like boxed Mac n’ Cheese.
    Kidding. Not really kidding actually, but I only cook it on special occasions.
    My favorite is Hoisin marinated grilled chicken, roasted veggies and rice.
    PS- Rach’s voice bothers me, but not as much as her hands. She sure knows how to man-handle her EVOO…

Leave a Reply

